Milford open Division 1 in memorable style with win at Bundoran


 March 12, 2017
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someone

MILFORD CERTAINLY ENJOYED their first ever appearance in the top flight of the All-County Football League with a fine win at Bundoran.

Bundoran 1-11 Milford 4-11

Danny O’Donnell’s well-versed side were nine-point winners at Gaelic Park this afternoon, a result that is just another step on their meteoric rise in recent years. Only five years ago Milford were in Division 4 and now – early days of course – they’re joint top of Division 1.

Gary Merritt scored two goals, while Kyle Black and Luke Barrett also saw green flags waving against a Bundoran side who were missing a host of regulars.

But it was Francie Martin’s Bundoran who scored the first goal when Tommy Hourihane netted from a penalty just after the quarter-hour. Coalan McGettigan, the Milford goalkeeper, was penalised for a foot-block on Christy Keaney.

However, on 17 minutes, Bundoran lost Donegal wing-back Paul Brennan to a black card and the balance of power began to shift from there.

Merritt scored Milford’s first goal to give the team from Moyle View a 1-5 to 1-4 lead at the break. Merritt was the ball Cannon off him after the unfortunate Bundoran goalkeeper, Ashley Mulhern, saved from Luke Barrett.

Eight minutes into the second half, Merritt goaded again following a line ball that both teams claimed was theirs. But the home side got back on terms at 1-8 to 2-5 thanks to points from Michael McEniff, Timmy Govorov and Cian McEniff.

But when Black added another Milford goal – following a centre from former Finn Harps midfielder Tony McNamee – with 10 minutes left it was Milford who were looking most likely.

Barrett’s goal with just five minutes to play confirmed the win.

Bundoran: Ashley Mulhern, Matthew Ward, Peter McGonigle, Diarmuid McCaughey; Timmy Govorov (0-1), Paul Brennan (0-1), Niall Carr; Michael McEniff (0-1), Gary Clancy (0-2), Alan Russell (0-1), Shane McGowan, Diarmuid Spratt (0-1); Cian McEniff (0-2, 1f), Timmy Hourihane (1-1, 1-0 pen), Christy Keaney (0-1). Subs: David Stuttard for Brennan (17, black card) Sean Gilmartin for Carr (55).

Milford: Caolan McGettigan, Conor McNulty, Barry McNulty, TJ Evisson; Tony McNamee, Paddy Peoples, Johnny Logue; Joey Cullen, Luke Barrett (1-3, 2f), Joey Cullen; Gary Merritt (2-0), Pauric Curley (0-1), Cathal McGettigan (0-21, f), Christopher Barrett, Kane Barrett (0-1), Kyle Black (1-1). Subs: Dara Black (0-2) for Curley (half-time) Gavin Grier for Logue (45), Sean Black for C Barrett.

Referee: Val Murray (Aodh Ruadh)