Christy Toye drives St Michael’s to first win of 2017 at Naomh Conaill’s expense


 March 19, 2017
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someone

ST MICHAEL’S HELD Naomh Conaill scoreless in the second half to post their first win of the new All-County Football League Division 1 season with Christy Toye impressing.

St Michael’s 1-11 Naomh Conaill 0-7

The Dunfanaghy side used their local knowledge well at the Bridge and went in level at the break, 1-4 to 0-7, having played against the wind in the first period.

At one stage, the visitors were in a decent position at 0-5 to o-1 in front with John O’Malley scoring four times in that opening period.

However, a goal from Andrew Kelly on 19 minutes leveled the scores at 1-2 to 0-5. Liam Paul Ferry, the St Michael’s full-back, was instrumental in the move having taken a short kick-out from Mark Anthony McGinley before making his way forward.

Ferry exchanged passes with several players before locating Odhran McFadden, who set up Kelly to score.

Points from Christy Toye and Colm McFadden meant the hosts were on terms at the interval.

Toye’s influence would grow in the second half as St Michael’s raced ahead. He would go onto score five points from play, while McFadden and Martin McElhinney were also on the mark.

Naomh Conaill found the going tough facing the wind and having seen their fixture against Gaoth Dobhair postponed last weekend, will look to get off the mark against Milford in two weeks’ time.

St Michael’s: Mark Anthony McGinley; Michael Gallagher, Liam Paul Ferry, Ruairi Friel; Michael Cannon, Ciaran Gallagher, Oisin Langan; Martin McElhinney (0-1), Ciaran Kelly; Chris McElhinney, Christy Toye (0-5), Andrew Kelly (1-2, 1f); Colm McFadden (0-3, 3f), Brian McLaughlin, Odhran McFadden. Subs: Caolan Toye for C McElhinney (50), Hugh O’Donnell and Stephen Coyle for McLaughlin and Langan (60).

Naomh Conaill: Stephen McGrath; Hugh Gallagher, Jason Campbell, Stephen Molloy; Kevin McGettigan, Aaron Thompson, Ultan Doherty; Johnny McLoone (0-1), Ciaran Thompson; Logan Quinn, Dermot Molloy (0-1), John O’Malley (0-4, 3f); Brendan McDyer (0-1), Leon Thompson, Eunan Doherty. Subs: JD Boyle for Gallagher (half-time), Jeaic McKelvey for McGettigan (46), Cathal Ellis for U Doherty (47), Charles McGuinness for L Thompson (60).

Referee: Robbie O’Donnell (Naomh Muire)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *